Our site uses cookies necessary for its proper functioning. To improve your experience, other cookies may be used: you can choose to disable them. This can be changed at any time via the Cookies link at the bottom of the page.

Bordeaux Polymer Conference - May 28-31, 2018 - Bordeaux INP

Organic Polymers Polymerization Catalysis Macromolecular Engineering Natural Polymers Biopolymers Sustainable Polymer Chemistry Polymer Materials Polymer Devices Polymer Self-Assembly Physical-Chemistry of Polymers Functional Polymers
K. KataokaK. Kataoka
S. PerrierS. Perrier
C. LefayC. Lefay
X. CoqueretX. Coqueret
D. QuemenerD. Quemener
F. BonnetF. Bonnet
A. J. RyanA. J. Ryan
S. ArmesS. Armes
P. Lacroix-DesmazesP. Lacroix-Desmazes

Professor Craig J. HAWKER

Last update Friday 16 February 2018

University of California Santa Barbara, California, USA


Professor Craig J. Hawker, FRS is Clarke Professor and holds the Alan and Ruth Heeger Chair of Interdisciplinary Science at UCSB where he directs the California Nanosystems Institute and the Dow Materials Institute. He came to UCSB in 2004 after eleven years as a Research Staff Member at the IBM Almaden Research Center in San Jose, CA. Professor Hawker’s research activities focus on synthetic polymer chemistry and the development of nanostructured materials for microelectronics and biotechnology.  This work has led to over 500 peer-reviewed papers and 60 patents with Professor Hawker helping to establish a range of start-up companies - Relypsa, Intermolecular, Olaplex, Tricida. For his pioneering studies, Professor Hawker’s recent honors include the 2017 Overberger International Prize, the 2016 Belgian Polymer Award, the 2013 American Chemical Society Award in Polymer Chemistry, the 2012 Centenary Prize from the Royal Society of Chemistry and an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the American Chemical Society in 2011. Professor Hawker has been honored with election to the Royal Society (London) as well as being named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors and American Association for the Advancement of Science.